Is ChatGPT Business worth it? Prices, what you get, and what else you could do instead
ChatGPT Business costs US$20 to $25 a seat a month with a 2-seat minimum, as of 2026-10-19. Here it is beside Claude Team, Microsoft 365 Copilot, doing nothing, and having someone set it up, with each price from the seller's own page and the plain answer to who it's worth it for.
ChatGPT Business is worth it if someone on your team will sit down and build the workflows it runs. The seat is a tool, not a finished job. ChatGPT Business, Claude Team and Microsoft 365 Copilot all leave the building to you. The cheapest way into ChatGPT Business is two seats at US$20 each, billed yearly, which comes to US$480 a year [1]. If it saves your team 2 hours a month and an hour of their time is worth more than US$20, it has paid for itself. If nobody will build anything with it, it's a subscription that does nothing.
The five choices, as of 2026-10-19
| # | ChatGPT Business [1] | Claude Team [2] | Microsoft 365 Copilot Business [3] | Do nothing | Have someone set it up [4] | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Price, standard seat | US$25 a month, or $20 billed yearly | $25 a month, or $20 billed yearly | $21 a month list ($18 promo to 2026-12-31), billed yearly, plus a Microsoft 365 Business plan from $7 (Basic) | $0 | Mackenzie: US$2,500 fixed, one job; agencies: $2,750 to $4,900 a workflow (Innovatrix); Upwork: $32 to $49 an hour |
| 2 | Heavier-use seat | $125 a month, or $100 yearly | $125 a month, or $100 yearly | |||
| 3 | Minimum | 2 seats (teams of 2 to 200) | 2 seats (teams of 2 to 150) | Yearly commitment for the promo | One job | |
| 4 | Smallest first year | $480 (2 seats, yearly) | $480 (2 seats, yearly) | $300 a user, with Microsoft 365 Business Basic | $0, and the job stays on your plate | $2,500 (Mackenzie) |
| 5 | Who builds the workflow | You | You | You | Nobody | They do |
| 6 | Notable extras | Business plan has no enhanced support or dedicated onboarding | Claude Code and Cowork; up to $500 a month in pooled API credits (currency not stated) | Copilot in the Office apps; usage and adoption reports; guided onboarding pages | Mackenzie: runs on your accounts, 30 days of fixes, handbook for staff, client data and fixes | |
| 7 | Refunds | None stated on the pricing page | "Generally non-refundable"; cancel any time, runs to the end of the period | 7-day window for a prorated refund | Per seller | |
| 8 | Your data | No training on business data by default | No training on your content by default | Enterprise Data Protection | Stays where it is | Mackenzie: runs on your own accounts |
Which one is worth it for you
- You'll build the workflows yourself: ChatGPT Business. At US$20 a seat billed yearly, it ties with Claude Team for the lowest price per seat. The Business plan doesn't include enhanced support or onboarding, so you'll be learning on your own.
- You or someone on your team writes code, or wants AI working across files and apps: Claude Team. It costs the same as ChatGPT, US$20 a seat a month billed yearly. It includes Claude Code and Cowork, plus up to $500 a month in pooled API credits (currency not stated).
- Your business already runs on Microsoft 365: Copilot. It works inside Word, Excel, Outlook and Teams, and it's the only one of the three with a 7-day refund window. It's an add-on, so you also pay for a Microsoft 365 plan. Microsoft's page states no seat minimum, so for a business of one it's the cheapest way in: US$300 for the first year with Business Basic.
- The job takes less of your time than a seat costs: do nothing. A seat costs US$20 to $25 a month, and ChatGPT and Claude both need at least two. A job that takes you an hour a month doesn't need them.
- You want the job gone, not a new tool to learn: have someone set it up. It costs more up front. Mackenzie's sprint is US$2,500 for one job, running on your own accounts within a week. The full comparison has all 14 options.
What none of the three seats does
All three are priced per person and leave the work to you. You still have to decide which job to hand over, connect the apps, write the instructions, and teach your staff. When an app changes, you fix what breaks. None of the three pricing pages publishes how long setup takes.
That's the gap a person fills, whether that's a freelancer by the hour, an agency, or Mackenzie for a week. If you already pay for a seat and it isn't doing much yet, setting up one job on it is where to start.
How we collected this
On 2026-10-19 we read each seller's own pricing page and recorded each price, minimum, extra, refund term and data statement, with the URL and the date. OpenAI's refund and terms pages wouldn't load for our reader, so the refund row only says what the pricing page states. The Microsoft 365 plan that Copilot needs is not priced here yet. We'll add it, and change the date, once we've read it on Microsoft's page. No seller paid to be listed, and nobody was contacted.
If a row here is wrong, email mackenzie@mackenziebowes.com. If you're paying for seats that aren't doing a job yet, that's the same address.
Sources
- ChatGPT Business pricing, read 2026-10-19: Standard seat $20/mo yearly, $25 monthly; Premium $100/$125; teams of 2 to 200; "Enhanced support" and "Dedicated onboarding" not on Business; no training on business data by default. openai.com/business/pricing/
- Claude Team pricing, read 2026-10-19: Standard seat US$20/mo yearly, $25 monthly; Premium $100/$125 (Claude's help centre; the pricing page shows CA$ to Canadian visitors); teams of 2 to 150; Claude Code and Claude Cowork; up to $500/mo pooled API credits; payments "generally non-refundable"; no model training on your content by default. claude.com/pricing#team-&-enterprise
- Microsoft 365 Copilot Business pricing, en-US, read 2026-10-19: add-on $21/user/mo list, $18 promo (2026-07-01 to 2026-12-31, first year), billed yearly; requires an eligible Microsoft 365 Business plan; 7-day cancellation window for a prorated refund; Enterprise Data Protection. www.microsoft.com/en-us/copilot/pricing/business
- Our AI agent setup comparison, 2026-10-19: Innovatrix single workflow $2,750 to $4,900; Upwork AI automation consultants $31.63 to $49/hr; Mackenzie's sprint US$2,500. www.mackenziebowes.com/competitors/ai-agent-setup